EAIPA – the European Association of Independent Performing Arts was founded in 2018 as the umbrella organisation for associations and interest groups from all over Europe representing the independent performing arts internationally and at the European level.

EAIPA operates at a B2B level and its members, in turn, represent the actors from the professional independent performing arts field on the respective national levels. The designation ‚independent performing arts community‘ comprises all professional freelance theatre-makers, artistic ensembles, and independent institutions and structures working in the genres of dance, theatre, circus, performance, music, performing arts for children, and youth theatre as well as overall interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary artistic work.


Our mission is to raise visibility for the sector and to achieve sustainable working structures and conditions as well as sufficient and stable funding for every artist in Europe.


Our vision is to become widely recognized among the independent performing arts sector with strong expert knowledge and therefore a reliable partner for policy/decision-makers on all levels.


  • EAIPA members exchange knowledge and best-practice models regularly to guarantee that national efforts are amplified and that a solid foundation for a European agenda is created.
  • By mapping the European landscape of independent performing arts, EAIPA undertakes to collect, identify, analyse, promote, and publish all applicable information, expertise, success stories, best practice models, challenges, and concerns of the sector.
  • A sector-specific tool kit built from the accumulated data should assist political representatives in drafting and implementing programs in which the needs of the independent performing arts scene complement that of the established, institutionalised structures. The tool kit is also designed to serve as a basis for all future endeavours and negotiations at the international and European level, with EAIPA being the relevant dialogue partner.

At the General Assembly in March 2019, Ulrike Kuner (President) presented her vision of the main work objectives and goals, to be a guideline to the forthcoming work of the board. Learn more.


BOARD MEMBERS March 2022 – Spring 2024

Ulrike Kuner

IG Freie Theaterarbeit /Austrian Association of Independent Performing Arts
Gumpendorferstraße 63B, AT – 1060 Wien

Inga Remeta

Društvo Asociacija
Metelkova 6, SI – 1000 Ljubljana

Orri Huginn Àgústsson

Association of Independent Theatres in Iceland
Tjarnargata 12, 101 Reykjavik

Davide D’Antonio

Etre associazione/CReSCo – Italy
Via Bergognone 34, ITA – 20144 Milano

Communication Manager
Axel Tangerding

Bundesverband Freie Darstellende Künste e.V.
Dudenstraße 10, 10965 Berlin

Board Member
Nina Mariel Kohler

t. Theaterschaffende Schweiz / Professionnels du spectacle Suisse/
Professionisti dello spettacolo Svizzera
Waisenhausplatz 30, Atelier 157, CH – 3011 Bern

Board Member
Stefan Aleksandrov Prohorov
АСТ – Aсоциация за свободен театър / ACT – Association of Independent Performing Arts Performing Arts
Art office, bul. Macedonia 17, fl. 4, ap. 21, BUL – Sofia 1606

Esther Baio
EAIPA – European Association of Independent Performing Arts
Gumpendorferstraße 63B, AT – 1060 Wien